Definition of Australian Capital Territory in English:

Share this entry

Australian Capital Territory

A federal territory in New South Wales, Australia, that consists of two enclaves ceded by New South Wales—one in 1911 to contain Canberra, the other in 1915 containing Jervis Bay. The latter became the Jervis Bay Territory in 1988.

For editors and proofreaders

Syllabification: Aus·tral·ian Cap·i·tal Ter·ri·to·ry

Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.