Share this entry
Commonwealth of Independent States Syllabification: Com·mon·wealth of In·de·pend·ent States
Pronunciation: /ˈkämənˌwelTH əv/ /ə ˌindəˈpendənt stāts/
(abbreviation: CIS)

Definition of Commonwealth of Independent States in English:

A confederation of independent states that were formerly constituent republics of the Soviet Union, established in 1991. Member states are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Turkmenistan and Ukraine are associate members.
Definition of Commonwealth of Independent States in:
Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.

Subscribe to remove adverts and access premium resources