Definition of Five Pillars of Islam in English:

Share this entry

Five Pillars of Islam

The five duties expected of every Muslim: profession of the faith in a prescribed form, observance of ritual prayer, giving alms to the poor, fasting during the month of Ramadan, and performing a pilgrimage to Mecca. See hajj, salat, sawm, shahada, and zakat.

For editors and proofreaders

Syllabification: Five Pil·lars of Is·lam

Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.