Definition of seven deadly sins in English:

seven deadly sins

Syllabification: sev·en dead·ly sins


(the seven deadly sins)
  • (In Christian tradition) the sins of pride, covetousness, lust, anger, gluttony, envy, and sloth.
    More example sentences
    • I follow the Ten Commandments and I make a conscious effort to try to avoid the seven deadly sins at all costs.
    • Pride is listed among the seven deadly sins with good reason.
    • No wonder it was made one of the seven deadly sins.

More definitions of seven deadly sins

Definition of seven deadly sins in:

Get more from Oxford Dictionaries

Subscribe to remove adverts and access premium resources

Word of the day skosh
Pronunciation: skəʊʃ
a small amount; a little