Definition of Confederate States of America in English:

Confederate States of America

Line breaks: Confederate States of Amer|ica
(also the Confederacy)
The eleven Southern states (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia) which seceded from the United States in 1860-1, thus precipitating the American Civil War.

Definition of Confederate States of America in:

Get more from Oxford Dictionaries

Subscribe to remove adverts and access premium resources

Word of the day anomalous
Pronunciation: əˈnɒm(ə)ləs
deviating from what is standard, normal, or expected