Definition of Balearic Islands in English:

Share this entry

Balearic Islands

Pronunciation: /ˌbalɪˈarɪk ˌʌɪləndz/
Pronunciation: /bəˈlɪərɪk ˌʌɪləndz/
(also the Balearics)
A group of Mediterranean islands off the east coast of Spain, forming an autonomous region of that country, with four large islands (Majorca, Minorca, Ibiza, Formentera) and seven smaller ones; capital, Palma (on Majorca).

For editors and proofreaders

Line breaks: Ba¦le|ar¦ic Is|lands

Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.