Share this entry

Share this page

Papua New Guinea

Syllabification: Pap·u·a New Guin·ea
Pronunciation: /ˌpapo͞oə no͞o ˈɡinē

Definition of Papua New Guinea in English:

A country in the western Pacific Ocean that includes the eastern half of the island of New Guinea as well as some neighboring islands; population 5,940,800 (est. 2009); capital, Port Moresby; languages, English (official), Tok Pisin, and several hundred native Austronesian and Papuan languages.

Papua New Guinea was formed in 1949 from the administrative union of Papua, an Australian Territory since 1906, and the Trust Territory of New Guinea (Northeast New Guinea), which was formerly under German control and an Australian trusteeship since 1921. In 1975, it became an independent state within the Commonwealth of Nations


Papua New Guinean

adjective& noun
Example sentences
  • One of the most important features of Papua New Guinean agriculture, especially in the informal sector, is that women play a key and leading role in food production, food processing and food marketing and distribution.
  • Black, red and yellow are traditional colors which are found in Papua New Guinean art and clothing.

Definition of Papua New Guinea in:

Share this entry

Share this page


What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.

Get more from Oxford Dictionaries

Subscribe to remove ads and access premium resources

Word of the day coxcomb
Pronunciation: ˈkäksˌkōm
a vain and conceited man; a dandy