Share this entry
Confederate States of America Syllabification: Con·fed·er·ate States of A·mer·i·ca
(also the Confederacy)

Definition of Confederate States of America in English:

The eleven southern states (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) that seceded from the US in 1860–61, thus precipitating the Civil War.
Definition of Confederate States of America in:
Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.

Subscribe to remove ads and access premium resources