Definition of seven seas in English:

Share this entry

seven seas


plural noun

(the seven seas)
All the oceans of the world (conventionally listed as the Arctic, Antarctic, North Pacific, South Pacific, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, and Indian Oceans).
Example sentences
  • He sailed the seven seas for many years and was respected by all who sailed with him.
  • I explained that this stood for the seven continents and the seven seas of the world.
  • His ship, Englander, was one of the largest and most reputable on all the seven seas.

For editors and proofreaders

Syllabification: sev·en seas

Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.