Share this entry
Commonwealth of Independent States Line breaks: Com¦mon|wealth of In|de¦pend|ent States
(abbreviation: CIS)

Definition of Commonwealth of Independent States in English:

A confederation of independent states, formerly constituent republics of the Soviet Union, established in 1991. The member states are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Turkmenistan and Ukraine are associate members.
Definition of Commonwealth of Independent States in:
Share this entry

What do you find interesting about this word or phrase?

Comments that don't adhere to our Community Guidelines may be moderated or removed.

Subscribe to remove ads and access premium resources